top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnie's Kitchen Garden

Making the Most of the Garden Despite the Weather



Well that’s the first week of my holiday over and it has rained almost every day and when it hasn’t, it has been incredibly windy!


But no matter, there is always something to do.



Herbs

One of the tasks I set myself between the showers, has been to pick fresh herbs from the garden specifically for drying. I do cheat though, as I have a dehydrator which has been a god send. So far, I have dried a good quantity of calendula, sage, parsley, thyme, mint and some lovely basil.


I managed to purchased some small spring top glass jars and am steadily filling these. I just need to source some labels or mark them in some way to add a personal touch, but I am really happy with the results.



Sage, Basil, Parsley, Mint and Thyme

Sweetcorn

Slightly disappointed with the harvest this year.


None of my plants have grown anything in height as they have in previous years and it seems only averaging one really good size cob per plant. In previous years the averaged has been at least two per plant and sometimes even three.

Also, the pollination has been a bit hit and miss too. Despite all my efforts to help by shaking the plants to release the pollen, some of this year’s cobs have failed to completely form, which is a real shame.



Beans

I have had some mixed results with these too!



The runner beans (Scarlet Emperor) have been rampant as usual and covered in masses of flowers, but they have just not been setting. Normally, the production each year is so great that I'd question myself as to whether I had again sown far too many plants.


The climbing beans (Cobra) however, have been very reliable and produced a really good and consistent crop.



Another success is the purple dwarf bush bean (Amethyst). These plants produce a lovely pod which turns a very dark green during cooking but are a beautiful deep purple on the plant with really pretty lilac flowers. These are now past their best and need lifting and replaced with a successional sowing.


The French climbing beans (Golden Gate) are a revelation! I have never grown them before, but they will definitely become a staple for future years to come!





Another new crop has been the Borlotti. This plant produces beautiful red and cream marbled pods. They are usually grown for the gorgeous nutty bean inside rather than the whole pod, so are left on the plant to fully mature.







In the kitchen

One drawback I find with growing in a small garden, is creating variety.


With such a restricted space, there is a danger to keep growing the same repetitive crops year on year. Therefore, I do like to try at least one new crop each season, but it is a fine balance between growing what I most like to eat and sacrificing valuable space for something new and untested. One way I overcome this is to buy from the supermarket, try it and if I like it, then I will attempt to grow it. For example, I had some free celeriac seeds, but was unsure whether to grow them or not. So I simply bought one to try. I enjoyed it so much I am now in my second year of growing them.


Scanning the internet for new recipes to liven up my produce, is another way of increasing the variety. Those first plates of freshly dug potatoes and newly picked veg of the season, are magical, but can quickly become boring if it is all you have each meal!


For instance, the bean gluts this week posed a bit of dilemma. I’d picked loads but didn’t want to freeze them as many had just ‘gone over’ and were past their very best. Instead, I decided I would peel them all and look for a mixed bean recipe that I could adapt.


This delicious chilli type bean stew was made with homegrown onion, chillies, beans and a batch of homemade tomato base* (recipe can be found below). It made a decent size batch, so I have frozen some for another day. I will certainly be making this again!







* Roasted Tomato Sauce; I always make with a variety of freshly picked tomatoes from the garden. I slice them all in half (cut side up) and add in a handful of homegrown chillies and whole garlic cloves, all coated in olive oil, salt and lots of milled peppercorns. Roast these in the oven at 200 c for about an hour (they will look a bit burnt, but this adds a depth of flavour), and then blitz with a hand blender. It keeps well in the freezer and is lovely in most pasta, chilli and other tomato based dishes.


And finally..........

I have one more week at home, and no doubt that will fly quicker than the first! I am hoping for much better weather, as I have a few things I'd really like to achieve.

To begin with, I need to lift the spuds and remove the sweetcorn plants to make way for my cauliflowers and winter salad crops. The bush beans need removing and re sowing asap.

I did find time however, to re-pot all of my sweet peppers and lemon seedlings in the greenhouse and do some filming! And on that note.........


My latest video can now be watched following the link below


'Prepping, Potting, Pests and a Preditor!'


Please don't forget to subscribe, like, comment and share too, if you haven't already. This really helps to raise my profile (which as it stands at the moment...is minuscule!!)

In the meantime,


Thank you all once again for your support.....I couldn't do it without you!


Annie x

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page