top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnie's Kitchen Garden

REINVENTING MYSELF ONLINE

Updated: Jul 21, 2019

Well it has been quite some time since I last wrote one of these, but life has a funny habit of distracting the mind and to be honest, I cannot quite believe I started my home allotment over four years ago in early 2015 and that I am now in my fifth summer of growing! The kitchen garden has evolved greatly since the beginning, and what I have come to especially love about it, is just how different it looks each year, simply because of the rotation of crops!


My Happy Place

I had been a single parent for more than twenty years, but recently my life has gradually become less hectic and the boys have ‘mostly’ flown the nest and have their own lives now, although the youngest still has his foot in the door, and his motorbike on my patio! I swear one day I will dangle some hanging baskets from the handlebars!!!

So, with this new stage in my life and an almost empty nest, I have become more and more accustomed to living alone with just my dog for company! I still work long hours, but my time at home usually centres around the garden.

In fact, there is nowhere I would rather sit with a coffee than in my summerhouse, be it early morning, mid-afternoon, in the evening or after work and just contemplate.



I particularly like to watch the bees flitting from flower to flower or my little feathered friends as they flock to the bird bath for a drink and a splash or just gather at the different feeders that I have placed around the garden.

This is my happy place and where I am the most relaxed!

A New Venture


I have decided that if from now on, I am to be this solitary at home, then I need to expand my metaphorical horizons. What better way to do this, than starting up my own YouTube Channel? I know it's totally bonkers, but the idea was suggested to me and that idea stuck. Anyway, I was on annual leave last week and thought, why the heck not? Besides, what is the very worst that could happen?

a) it would fail or

b) people would simply laugh at me....




In for a Penny

Well, I only went and did it!!

On Sunday 14th July 2019 I officially became a YouTuber!

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvkYHJ8eCJPskzmVy-cg1CQ?view_as=subscriber .....and with 7 subscribers I might add! Not only that, but my first two uploaded videos have had 27 views each and considering ‘mighty oaks from little acorns grow’, for me, I'd say that was a stupendously roaring success!

Annie

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page